• Missouri 816-561-0304
    Missouri 816-561-0304
  • Kansas 913-871-4188
    Kansas 913-871-4188
  • St. Joseph 816-364-0900
    St. Joseph 816-364-0900

    Home Health Care


2021 Gala

Night of Independence Awards - An Evening in Paris

Held on Friday, September 24, 6-10pm
Hybrid event
The Abbott Kansas City
1901 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Missouri

This annual evening of giving honored individuals, businesses, and organizations that are furthering our mission of providing independent living services and programming for people with disabilities in the Greater Kansas City metropolitan area.

2021 Award winners were:

  • Volunteer Group of the Year - Worcester Investments
  • Individual Award - Dr. Mark T. Fisher
  • Organization Award - Kansas City Missouri, Parks and Recreation
  • Paul H. Levy Founders Award - Mona Randolph, posthumously, accepted by husband Mark Randolph.

Our Co-Chairs, Jennifer Salva and Logan Weed, alongside CEO Julie DeJean, honored each award winner with an art glass trophy. Other committee members included Jordan Ward, Chris Albright, Jessica Barranco, Hilary Muehlberger, Kelly Grooms and Mitch Chalk.

The evening was highlighted by Kelly Eckerman, KMBC 9 News, who served as emcee. A beautiful Parisian-themed atmosphere was a backdrop to an evening of music, entertainment, cocktails, silent and live auctions, dinner, and awards program. Exquisite desserts by Chef Tiffany Bohm-Taff.  Parisian music by instrumentalist Jane Christison, and entertainment by Beth Byrd-Lonski.

Special thanks to our Presenting Sponsor Capitol Federal, Underwriting Sponsor UMB, and Advocate Sponsor Fred & Jami Pryor Foundation for their support.

The Fund-A-Need spotlighted TWP’s Home Modifications Program, which utilizes skilled, experienced volunteers and local contractors to design and build wheelchair access ramps and other residential modifications such as grab bars, handrails, door widening, stair lifts and basic bathroom modifications, so consumers can live safely in their homes.

Photo Slideshow (All photos by Roy Inman)

Video of event

Award Winner Videos